eGreetings seminars inspirationals quickTests mathCorner scienceCorner prizes/awards

Search Site
q and a

Home >> prizes/awards >> literature

Nobel Prize for Literature

Laureates Official Website

Wiiliam Shakespeare The Nobel Prize in Literature is one of the five prize areas mentioned in Alfred Nobel's will. It was Nobel's expressed wish that in awarding the Prize, "no consideration shall be given to the nationality of the candidates, but that the most worthy shall receive it, whether he be Scandinavian or not."
Why Shakespeare couldn't be considered? Read on

Rabindranath Tagore

Nobel Prize for Literature 1913 for the English version of his work "Gitanjali", published in 1912
Rabindranath Tagore

Biography Nobel Stamp Collection of Poems

Booker Prize

Since it was originally set up by Booker in 1968, The Booker Prize for Fiction has continued to grow in stature and prestige, and is today one of the most famous and sought after literary awards in the world.The Booker is awarded annually to the best novel of the year written by a British or Commonwealth author.

Booker Prize Indian winners

1971 In a Free State by V.S.Naipaul
1975 Heat and Dust by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
1981 Midnight's Children by Salman Rushdie
1997 The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy

Salman Rushdie Salman Rushdie
Special Prize for Best of the Past 25 years Midnight's Children 
"I do not envy people who think they have a complete explanation of the world, for the simple reason that they are obviously wrong." --From an interview with David Frost (PBS)
Published works

Booker Winners List Official Website Yann Martel wins in 2002

Pulitzer Prizes

The Pulitzer Prizes are annual awards for achievements in American journalism, letters, drama and music. The prizes have been awarded by the Pulitzer Prize Board at Columbia University since 1917.

Official Website Empire Falls by Richard Russo wins in 2002 Archives

Jnanpith Award

The Jnanpith Award is given for the best creative literary writing by any Indian citizen in any of the languages included in the VIII Schedule of the Indian Constitution. The award carries a cash price of Rs 2.5 lakh, a citation and a bronze replica of Vagdevi.

Jnanpith Awardees Sahitya Academy Awards Indian writers' photo gallery

The Giller Prize

Canada's premier literary prize for fiction, the Giller Prize awards C$25,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English.

The Whitbread Book Awards
Awarded to the best in British contemporary writing, the Whitbread Book Awards are now in their 30th year. The categories include Whitbread prize for Fiction and First Novel.

Guardian Awards
Awarded to a work of fiction by British or Commonwealth writer and published in the U.K. In 1999, the award changed its focus and is now the Guardian First Book Award.

Orange Prize for Fiction
The Orange Prize, established in 1996 by Orange plc, a UK telecommunications corporation, honours and celebrates fiction written by women and published in the United Kingdom.

Betty Trask Awards
Awards are for authors under 35 and Commonwealth citizens with a first novel of a traditional or romantic nature. Annual prize of £25,000 (shared).

O' Henry Awards
Best Short Story Award. The series was instituted in 1918 as a tribute to the writer O. Henry, who died in 1910.

Hugo Awards for Science Fiction
The Hugo Award was named in honor of Hugo Gernsback, "The Father of Magazine Science Fiction," as he was described in a special award given to him in 1960. The Hugo Award, also known as the Science Fiction Achievement Award, is given annually by the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS).

Nebula Awards for Science Fiction
The Nebula Awards are voted on, and presented by, active members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc.

National Book Awards
On March 16, 1950, a consortium of book publishing groups in the US sponsored the first annual National Book Awards Ceremony and Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City. Their goal was to enhance the public's awareness of exceptional books written by fellow Americans, and to increase the popularity of reading in general.

The Prix Goncourt
Administered by La Société de gens de lettres on behalf of the Académie Goncourt, this is France's most prestigious literary award. Under the terms of the will of Edmond de Goncourt, it is awarded every December to "the best imaginary prose work of the year".

The Frankfurt eBook Award
In October 1999, the International eBook Award Foundation created the Frankfurt eBook Award (FeBA) to recognize excellence in eBooks, a new media with tremendous potential and opportunities for authors, publishers, imprints, and the reading public throughout the world. These annual awards will continue to honor quality and integrity in writing, celebrating and promoting enhancements that take full advantage of the technical developments in the eBook field.

Children's Book Awards

message-board || resources || links || newsletter || newsgroups
mail a friend || feedback || about us || disclaimer || privacy policy

© 2000-2004 DecisionCraft Analytics Ltd.
This site can be best viewed in 800 x 600 resolution on Internet Explorer 4.0 or above.